The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development (“NJDOL”) recently issued Final Regulations governing the Earned Sick Leave Law (the “Act”). As you may recall from our prior Employment Law Alerts, the law requires all employers to provide 1 hour of Earned Sick Leave (“ESL”) for every 30 hours worked (up to 40 hours) per benefit year to their New Jersey employees. CLICK HERE
. The NJDOL’s previously issued proposed regulations left employers with confusion in some areas. In the Final Regulations issued last week, the NJDOL finally responded to 118 comments submitted by interested parties and clarified how employers must administer ESL. In this alert, we summarize the key comments addressed in the Final Regulations that may impact how employers have been implementing ESL.